HRSD Commission Elects New Chair


Elofson, Lakdawala also receive Commission Reappointments


VIRGINIA BEACHHRSD Commissioner Stephen C. Rodriguez has been elected to serve as chair of the eight-member, Governor-appointed HRSD Commission.

Rodriguez, a resident of Chesapeake, has been on the HRSD Commission since October 5, 2012, and is the owner and president of Cruco, Inc., providing construction services in Hampton Roads. He holds a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering technology and a certificate in civic leadership from Old Dominion University.

Additionally, commission members Frederick N. Elofson of Newport News and Vishnu K. Lakdawala of Virginia Beach have been reappointed by Governor Glenn Youngkin to each serve additional four-year terms.

The HRSD Commission meets monthly and sets policy, provides direction and approves the HRSD budget. Commission members reside in the localities comprising HRSD’s service area and serve four-year terms.

About HRSD: HRSD is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia created by public referendum in 1940 and currently serves 20 cities and counties in southeast Virginia and the Eastern Shore, an area with a population of 1.9 million.

HRSD Vision: Future Generations will inherit clean waterways and be able to keep them clean.


Should you have any questions or comments, you may contact:

Media Contact:

Leila Rice, APR – 757.460.7056
Director of Communications